100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums

Go Back   100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums > 100% Biker > Trike Magazine

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30-12-2010, 09:37 PM
eddie axeman eddie axeman is offline
Chat Slut
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 121
Default vw trike wireing

has anyone got a wireing diagram .iam thinking of getting one of those part built harness.from ssp are they anygood .also weres the best place to get the handle bar switch gear from and whats the best ones to get what do they need to have on them .
__________________
evil axe murderer stay away
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-12-2010, 04:59 PM
kajay kajay is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Reading
Posts: 14
Default

I didnt bother with a loom when I rewired my VW trike , as I found it easier to run wires as needed, there are a few websites which show the basics needed I will see if I can find one for you.
As for controls it depends what you want, I have the kill switch/start/indicators/hazards & lights all controlled from the switchgear, which I bought off ebay to suit what I needed.

Is the VW dynamo or alternator as this does make a difference when wiring?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-12-2010, 05:11 PM
kajay kajay is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Reading
Posts: 14
Default

heres a link for the beetle wiring diagram, I just used the bits I needed and removed the rest, hope it helps

http://electricwiringdiagram.com/wp-...5-electric.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-12-2010, 06:59 PM
trikerdrew's Avatar
trikerdrew trikerdrew is offline
It's about time I shut the fuck up!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: leicester
Posts: 1,994
Default how is this

BTW

http://www.angelfire.com/fl/trikesites/wire.jpg
__________________
"All I learnt at school was how to bend and break the rules",Madness
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2011, 11:01 AM
eddie axeman eddie axeman is offline
Chat Slut
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 121
Default

it is running a dynamo the guy at the local vw garage said for the cost of converting the gain wasnt worth it so i have bought some new dynamo brushes
__________________
evil axe murderer stay away
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:59 PM
Trike357 Trike357 is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hastings,East Sussex
Posts: 25
Default

yeah,I'm doing up an old Phoenix too,got one of those looms..turned out to be not much use,could have bought the separate wires cheaper and the diagram they send is for an old beetle,so I ended up doing all the wiring myself,changed it to alternator too...and so far it runs and nothing has blown up..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.