100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums

Go Back   100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums > 100% Biker > The Workshop

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2009, 11:52 PM
devon-tony devon-tony is offline
Lucky Wombling Bastard except when he's not Wombling, when he's just a Lucky Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Devonshire
Posts: 4,371
Send a message via AIM to devon-tony
Default spark plug threads, M12 (fine)?

the 12mm plugs, whats the thread? Im assuming its M12 fine? does that exist

I need to get a spindle made up for my front end, and the thread in the fork leg is the same as the small spark plugs LOL

suppose I could just take the plug with me to the engineering place, but if I can avoid looking like a total nob, that would be appreciated LOL
__________________
nowt of much use here
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-02-2009, 12:53 AM
John Hopkins's Avatar
John Hopkins John Hopkins is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tredegar, South Wales
Posts: 16,062
Default

Take the plug, you would look more stupid if you mistakenly told them the wrong size and then had to go back. They are after all, the experts and dont expect you to know everything.

This might be of some use.

http://www.acdelco.com/parts/sparkpl...tification.jsp


John
__________________
Beauty is skin deep; ugly goes right to the bone

Last edited by John Hopkins; 13-02-2009 at 01:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-02-2009, 08:47 AM
v8_trike's Avatar
v8_trike v8_trike is offline
Been out, but rather stay in!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Lincs
Posts: 1,321
Default

I think (if memory serves me right) it it M12 x 1.25, may have a tap you can borrow if you can wait till I have a look about

oops, just read your post right, found M12 x 1.25 tap, you may be after M14 x 1.25 as the M12 looks too small for a plug hole!
__________________
Too many projects, not enough time (or )

Last edited by v8_trike; 13-02-2009 at 09:00 AM. Reason: read post while half asleep
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-02-2009, 11:06 AM
happybiker happybiker is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: The land of the bloody rose
Posts: 235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8_trike View Post
I think (if memory serves me right) it it M12 x 1.25, may have a tap you can borrow if you can wait till I have a look about

oops, just read your post right, found M12 x 1.25 tap, you may be after M14 x 1.25 as the M12 looks too small for a plug hole!

It is indeed M12x 1.25 .

LOL v8.
Not many M12 plugs are used on bikes, most of them have gone to M10 X1 , now that is tiny to someone used to those prehistoric M14 ones I put in my boxer engines.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-02-2009, 11:57 AM
v8_trike's Avatar
v8_trike v8_trike is offline
Been out, but rather stay in!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Lincs
Posts: 1,321
Default

Thread sizes always confuse me! I use a lot of wierd and wonderful combinations at work, some just don't look right for the hole you are trying to tap
__________________
Too many projects, not enough time (or )
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-02-2009, 12:29 PM
devon-tony devon-tony is offline
Lucky Wombling Bastard except when he's not Wombling, when he's just a Lucky Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Devonshire
Posts: 4,371
Send a message via AIM to devon-tony
Default

cheers for the help, I had a dig about at work, found all my tools and miracle of miracles actually found my thread guage

yes as you correclty said, it is M12 x 1.25

just got the drawing to make up and then can get the front spindle made

be bloody glad when my boss gets our lathe wired up, life will be so much better and cheaper

such a waste, I feel like crying everytime I look out my office window down onto the lathe and mill, both lifeless...

and its sods law that Im the only person working here for weeks now, all on my todd, with no power to the tools
__________________
nowt of much use here
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-02-2009, 08:02 PM
v8_trike's Avatar
v8_trike v8_trike is offline
Been out, but rather stay in!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Lincs
Posts: 1,321
Default

just put a 3 phase plug on em for now! and away you go...
__________________
Too many projects, not enough time (or )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-02-2009, 08:14 PM
devon-tony devon-tony is offline
Lucky Wombling Bastard except when he's not Wombling, when he's just a Lucky Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Devonshire
Posts: 4,371
Send a message via AIM to devon-tony
Default

thats what we waiting for, only got 1 spare slot on the board, waiting for the sparks to run a line to the back of the factory, put a socket in the wall, then a plug on the mill and a plug on the lathe

gert big colchester 2500 and bridgeport rotating head jobby...

I reckon that my boss knows that Im waiting to use them and is holding off on purpose GGGRRRRR
__________________
nowt of much use here
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-02-2009, 08:27 PM
v8_trike's Avatar
v8_trike v8_trike is offline
Been out, but rather stay in!
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Lincs
Posts: 1,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devon-tony View Post
thats what we waiting for, only got 1 spare slot on the board, waiting for the sparks to run a line to the back of the factory, put a socket in the wall, then a plug on the mill and a plug on the lathe

gert big colchester 2500 and bridgeport rotating head jobby...

I reckon that my boss knows that Im waiting to use them and is holding off on purpose GGGRRRRR


Ahhh i see.. mine run the same way, one board, lots of plugs!
__________________
Too many projects, not enough time (or )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.