100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums

Go Back   100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums > 100% Biker > Biker Chat

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28-05-2007, 12:00 PM
alantracy alantracy is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default What do i have to do......

My bike engine's knackered and I reckon it's easier to find another-possibly the Ebay route than rebuld it.. Is it just a case of finding one (with the engine number still on) and sending my V5 off to the DVLA with the new engine number on to be registered to my bike, or is that to easy?

Cheers

Alan

Ps. It.s an early 80's 250 superdream if anyone's got a nice clean motor gathering dust in their shed and wants a bit cash for it.. I'm in North East UK and wouldn't mind a trip out for a good un.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-05-2007, 12:12 PM
John Hopkins's Avatar
John Hopkins John Hopkins is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tredegar, South Wales
Posts: 16,062
Default

Yes I think thats all you have to do...keep the receipt..it's the frame that the V5 registers, not the engine...I don't think you even need to send of the V5 until you change owners..I could be wrong..it's a long time since I changed an engine...John
__________________
Beauty is skin deep; ugly goes right to the bone
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-05-2007, 12:17 PM
Bosun's Avatar
Bosun Bosun is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: surrey but wanna be in devon
Posts: 22,404
Default

i believe thats correct but you will need to send off v5 due to the new computerised mot thingy
__________________
Warning: Dates in your calendar are closer than they appear!

Bosunsbikes.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-05-2007, 01:32 PM
Changeling Changeling is offline
Chat Slut
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alantracy
My bike engine's knackered and I reckon it's easier to find another-possibly the Ebay route than rebuld it.. Is it just a case of finding one (with the engine number still on) and sending my V5 off to the DVLA with the new engine number on to be registered to my bike, or is that to easy?

Cheers

Alan

Ps. It.s an early 80's 250 superdream if anyone's got a nice clean motor gathering dust in their shed and wants a bit cash for it.. I'm in North East UK and wouldn't mind a trip out for a good un.
Nows a good time to put a 400 motor in.. Had me a 400 superdream for a few years despatching..very nimble very balanced.. just need the 400carbs with it..the 250 exhaust will work..good luck
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-05-2007, 06:05 PM
alantracy alantracy is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks folks it seems fairly straight forward, now for an engine-250 or 400?
Now there's another question.......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-05-2007, 06:08 PM
Shifty's Avatar
Shifty Shifty is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 2,794
Default

Seeing as the 400'll go straight in, if you can find one it's no contest innit?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-05-2007, 10:18 PM
XJphil's Avatar
XJphil XJphil is offline
Type like a Twat Me...
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Black Country
Posts: 763
Default

You must send off the V5 with the new engine number
when its MOT`d they put the engine number in too, and if plod pull yer they will check engine number too
dosn`t mater if its a suzuki engine as long as the numbers correct
i`d try a breakers before i`d ebay one
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-05-2007, 10:52 PM
Changeling Changeling is offline
Chat Slut
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alantracy
Thanks folks it seems fairly straight forward, now for an engine-250 or 400?
Now there's another question.......
Im fairly sure a CB350s motor would go straight in as well...but check on that one
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-05-2007, 02:17 AM
Madkwak's Avatar
Madkwak Madkwak is offline
Chat Slut
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 117
Default

the newer 350 dont fit without chain issues .... (adjust with spacers and a good eye).. but the 400 fits fine ... and yes send the v5 with the new motor number.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-05-2007, 04:07 PM
alantracy alantracy is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 43
Default

So do I need proof of where I get the engine from? Or is it okay as long as the replacement motor isn't reported as a stolen one.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29-05-2007, 06:22 PM
critch critch is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: scouseland
Posts: 5,511
Default

good luck finding a decent one...............


bear in mind mate any motor you dig up of that age may well need a rebuild...........
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30-05-2007, 08:19 AM
wurzel wurzel is offline
Billy No Mates (only virtual ones!)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,007
Default

And replace the oil filter sump plug with a pattern one with a 14mm or even 17mm head rahter than the standard 12mm if it hasn't been done already.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-05-2007, 10:59 AM
bear bear is offline
Chat Pimp
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: south lake district cumbria
Posts: 188
Default

Think you will need the CDI and the wiring harness from a 400 too as the electrics are different from the 250's.
__________________
the awnser is beer .............. errrr what was the question?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.