100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums

Go Back   100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums > 100% Biker > The Workshop

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2006, 10:07 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default strange...

my gs 500 is running a bit funny...........starts ok, will run okish for a few miles, when your moving there is'nt a problem, but sometimes when you stop, the revs drop below 1k and it wants to stall, its like its loosing a pot, but give it a quick twist and the fuckers fine..........when cold, when you first run it down the road it feels like its holding back, then you get a quick 'pop' and its running ok, so any ideas apart from setting the fuckin thing alight
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2006, 10:15 PM
Grav's Avatar
Grav Grav is offline
Noisy Scouse Gobshite and Owner of the snigger TM
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: in a house and a tent at weekends
Posts: 19,061
Default

Could be an electrical fault causing an intermittent spark.

Or it could be the pixies playing silly buggers with your head again.
__________________
Dark Lord Of Custard

Mitch Says " It'll be alright trust me, I'm a yorkshireman..... "
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2006, 10:49 PM
Taff's Avatar
Taff Taff is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 4,954
Default

I suspect the old favorite and fost thing i always look for on jap bikes, spark arcing out fromt lead.
When it's playing up, like cold or whatever, run your fingers gently down the lead and plug cap, especially where it's nearest to the head/any metal.
You shouldn't get nowt, if you get a tickle, you're arcing out.
Or the copper inside the leads corroded where it screws into the cap, if it green and powdery, snip half inch off and push it in and screw it on again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2006, 11:40 PM
guydewdney's Avatar
guydewdney guydewdney is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Zomerset
Posts: 361
Default

an ex of mine had one of these - and a similar problem (ish) turned out to be knackered emusion tubes (the one the needle goes into at the bottom of the throat of thew carb)

new carbs - 30 quid - sorted.
__________________
TDM850 with single sider, nitros, and a towbar
5 1/2 cars
6.9 Merc V8 ratrike project
Total engine capacity:- 22.7 litres
All Terrain Camera Tracking for Film and TV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2006, 10:42 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

cheers chaps, will try these things out
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2006, 05:42 AM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Question

right then, the story continues......
tried the things that you have mentioned and I am seriously looking at a carb/fuel problem.....if I have a full tank the fucker plays up, but if the tank is @ half or below then the problem seams to go away, I replaced the fuel lines and vacuum line when I resprayed the bike earlier on in the year ( along with coils and ht leads and caps and plugs) and they are not caught anywhere and are running to the carbs without any bends ect ( I am putting a alarm on the gs on sunday so I will double check again and replace if needed, the bike will be worth double its value with the alarm, maybe a 10 with a full tank ), so any other ideas, grav ideas of the elecreical pixies might be right and I might ask taff for the loan of his hammer and beat the fuckin thing to death....

thanks peeps
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2006, 08:51 AM
trikerdrew's Avatar
trikerdrew trikerdrew is offline
It's about time I shut the fuck up!
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: leicester
Posts: 1,994
Question Fuel cap?

You mentioned it played up when tank was full.On z/gts same thing happens if the breather vent gets blocked in the cap worth a check anyhew

900r used to play up this time of year.Ice in petrol-vw do a bottle for beetles that fixed problem.

Cheers,

Drew

Last edited by trikerdrew; 12-12-2006 at 08:53 AM. Reason: thought
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-12-2006, 08:53 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

i had a gasket pop on the exhaust earlier this morning, so oft to the garage at work and repaired it and now the bikes running fine, now is this coincidence or would the loss of exhaust pressure make it play about!
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-12-2006, 09:44 AM
Dougie's Avatar
Dougie Dougie is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In the canyons of my mind.....
Posts: 19,609
Default

Wouldn't do any good...........
__________________
We will remember them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-12-2006, 08:28 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

my bike is a fuckin woman............it cannot be anything else as its that fuckin tempermental in the cold, going to scour e-bay and get another set of carbs for it...............fuckinpoxyarsedbagofnogood****pie ceofcrap
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21-12-2006, 07:15 AM
ozzybiker ozzybiker is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: QLD, Australia
Posts: 205
Default

my wife's GS500e has a real problem with carb icing. could be that? you can get fuel additaves to help stop icing.

but it still soundes like a blocked fuel breather in the fuel cap. have you tryed cleaning that out?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21-12-2006, 12:22 PM
contail's Avatar
contail contail is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East sussex
Posts: 1,129
Default

My Gsxr Has Been Doing Since I Put Me 40 Mm Carbs On. Like Running With The Chock On Then Revs Dropping. Stop Hard Enough And Bike Would Cut Out. If I Held The Revs Up A Bit When Stopping Hard Bike Would Just Struggle On 2 Or 3 Pots. My Teck Book Said Its Caused Usualy By Fuel Swill Or Emulsion Tube Probs. Checked Me Floates, They Were To High (letting In To Much Fuel Causing Greater Swill Effects) Checked Me Tubes, Well Checked Whole Carbs, They Were Mint. Problem Gone. Im Guessing It Was Down To The Fuel Swill, But I Could Of Cured It By By Just Looking In Carbs.

Oh One Other Thing. On My Gs 850 Chop. I Turned The Mixture Screws Out. Started Realy Easy Even With Out Choke. But It Was Jumpy On Low Revs When It Warmed Up And And Died During Braking. To Rich
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21-12-2006, 11:13 PM
John Hopkins's Avatar
John Hopkins John Hopkins is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tredegar, South Wales
Posts: 16,062
Default

You mentioned that you changed the fuel lines. if the replacement line is too long it can cause an air blockage check that the line from the tap to the carb doesn't have a loop in it!John
__________________
Beauty is skin deep; ugly goes right to the bone
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22-12-2006, 07:26 AM
contail's Avatar
contail contail is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: East sussex
Posts: 1,129
Default

dam didnt know that. my lines about about 18 inches long running round the carbs then between the filters. i wonder if thats why my bike stutters.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22-12-2006, 08:59 AM
wurzel wurzel is offline
Billy No Mates (only virtual ones!)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,007
Default

we have a GS500 and had same problem, it was a plug cap believe it or not.

Used to run like someone was restricting the exhaust (really slow to pick up revs) then suddenly clear with a small back backfire, then if you were riding round town it would drop back into slow mode again sometimes.

Sadly it is off the road again at present - starter motor clutch and a chip in the worm drive for the tacho which is on the exhaust cam (took me a strip down before I realised that was what was causing the strange top end noise).

Also a few years ago we had a magnet disintegrate on the alternator pick ups - that caused strange electrical madness before it finally fell apart and took out the bearing on the balance shaft by comitting suicide in it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 23-12-2006, 10:14 AM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

right then, whether the need doing or not, tommorow, i will replace the fuel lines, ht leads, plugs and caps, clean the breather out and fix the 'new' hole...how i got that i ahv'nt a clue, it looks like someones drilled it!, too neat and precise for road debri

and if all that fails.............then i will scratch my head some more i suppose and threaten to kill it and set it on fire until it works, wont do any good, but it entertains the neighbours and makes me feel better
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 24-12-2006, 09:04 AM
pyro pyro is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Winchelsea!
Posts: 5,279
Default

When it starts playing up open the fuel cap to see it that cures it, possibly a blocked vent as someone said earlier.
__________________
Motorsickle!!!

Free the binary 10
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 24-12-2006, 01:51 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyro
When it starts playing up open the fuel cap to see it that cures it, possibly a blocked vent as someone said earlier.
good idea that man, best not be having my normal fag over the tank then
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24-12-2006, 03:55 PM
deegee deegee is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: planet thanet
Posts: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitkatman
good idea that man, best not be having some fag over the tank then


Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 24-12-2006, 10:23 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deegee
kant...............
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-01-2007, 08:12 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

at the momment i have 'fairly' sorted the problem out, i turned the carbs 'up' a touch and now its running a couple of hundred rpm faster ( sitting @1500-1600rpm), have the problem more so in the morning, so reckon on those who said carb frosting is right, will try out the de-frosting stuff in tommorow when i go through the garage and find it..........also the gs dont like the damp, so i have been round with the wd40 and the silicone ect..............

but i have noticed that the gs would'nt fire up properly if the lights where on the on position when i pressed the electric start, if the lights were off, she boots up strait away, without a glitch or a murmur, but, with the light switch to on, it can be a pain, hence, i now start her with the lights off now, is this normal......

the alarm died in spectacular style, it got damp, said something in japenese, went pop and popped and smoked a lot, thought it had fucked the loom up, but, it dosnt seam to have done any damge, not even blow a fuse, so thats now been taken back off and the person that helped me put it on swore at
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-01-2007, 09:08 PM
Dougie's Avatar
Dougie Dougie is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In the canyons of my mind.....
Posts: 19,609
Default

A GS500 will take a fair bit of juice to turn it over (remember it IS half a 1000cc 4),so it needs as much grunt as the battery will supply.The ignition's gonna take some power,so if you put the lights on you're draining mebbe 70 watts (I dare say a sparky'll correct me if i'm wrong ) from the power you'd otherwise be putting thro' the leccy start and the ignition.
__________________
We will remember them.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-01-2007, 09:55 PM
deegee deegee is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: planet thanet
Posts: 419
Default

Is it possible you're using a smaller battery than it should have so that it hasn't got the grunt it needs when you're trying to start it?.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:08 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deegee
Is it possible you're using a smaller battery than it should have so that it hasn't got the grunt it needs when you're trying to start it?.
not got a clue, the battery came with the bike and as it has never let me down before, i have never changed it, if that makes sense

but saying that!

if i use the indicators with no lights/side lights then they work fine, but if i have normal lights on/full beam, they will only flash when i am revving and stay on the on-blink position when the throttle is shut........bit fuckin strange
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:13 PM
deegee deegee is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: planet thanet
Posts: 419
Default

How long have you had the bike? the battery could be knackerd. Might be an idea to swap it with a known good one and see if that improves the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:15 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deegee
How long have you had the bike? the battery could be knackerd. Might be an idea to swap it with a known good one and see if that improves the situation.
had the bike nearly a year, i hav'nt got another and as the bikes always fired up, i have never thought of the battery!, but i can get another and see if that makes a difference
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:32 PM
deegee deegee is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: planet thanet
Posts: 419
Default

Well they don't last forever and winter does give batteries a hard time. Plus when playing the elimination game knowing for sure the battery is sound means you can then look elsewhere or the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:37 PM
kitkatman's Avatar
kitkatman kitkatman is offline
Beefy Pickle doesn't bat for the other side (as far as we know)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: the garage ( i fuckin wish )
Posts: 14,913
Send a message via MSN to kitkatman
Default

shall try that then, just my luck, after i have fucked about with everything else that its going to be the battery
__________________
I THOUGHT I SAW YOU NAME ON A LOAF OF BREAD.......

.....THEN I REALISED IT SAID THICK CUT




QUALIFIED MEMBER OF THE MOBILE DRUNKEN DISPLAY TEAM....


Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-01-2007, 11:27 PM
pyro pyro is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Winchelsea!
Posts: 5,279
Default

Remember the superdream? I came across a problem with one once, it would spin the engine over for ages until it went flat with no prob but not start recharge the battery and do it again, yet a short bump start had it running everytime.
Solution? New battery, it had enough amps to spin it but not the voltage because of a dead cell (e.g. 10.5 volts) now the dreams ignition needed 12.5 or more volts to start, so the battery had no chance, but if you bumped it the spinning alternator gave it enough juice (added to the battery) to start, and once spinning fast enough it ran fine.... guess how long it took me to figure that one out....?
I suspect if you put a meter across the battery it will show a low voltage, get it running and check the voltage with the lights on/off - indicators going and I bet it will drop below the crucial 10.5.
__________________
Motorsickle!!!

Free the binary 10
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:15 AM
deegee deegee is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: planet thanet
Posts: 419
Default

Good one Pyro, should have thought of that myself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.