100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums
  #1  
Old 16-05-2004, 09:21 PM
Teasy Teasy is offline
Chat Slapper
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fife,Scotland
Posts: 61
Angry Trike Hazard Warning Lights

Just read in this months 100% that hazard lights are compulsory for the MVSA test. Could someone give me an idea as to how to go about it so that the indicator still work properly.
Cheers
Teasy
"This trike building lark is driving me NUTS!"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-05-2004, 11:43 PM
Alik Windrush Alik Windrush is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 275
Default

Next issue of Trike Tek will show several different methods and versions that we've actually wired onto trike and work.
They go from simple to trickier and range from about 2 to 30 in parts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-05-2004, 10:20 AM
Mad Dog's Avatar
Mad Dog Mad Dog is offline
Type like a Twat Me...
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sarf East
Posts: 961
Default

The dearest part is the Indicator Relay which needs to be able to handle the additional load and would cost approx 14.

Plus a combined "Hazard" switch and light for about 5 plus some cabling.

If you tow a trailer you will need a slightly dearer relay again (14.50) which also provides an extra "idiot light" (or buzzer if you wish) for your dashboard to remind you that you have a trailer connected.

All parts can be obtained from:- Vehicle Wiring Products
__________________
Renegade Events etc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-05-2004, 12:43 PM
odie odie is offline
It's about time I shut the fuck up!
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,548
Send a message via MSN to odie
Thumbs down

All parts can be obtained from a good scrap yard (hazard relay, illuminated switch)
I would never go to vehicle wiring products, they are to expensive!
I have a wiring diagram for a hazard relay circuit if you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-05-2004, 01:57 PM
Mad Dog's Avatar
Mad Dog Mad Dog is offline
Type like a Twat Me...
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sarf East
Posts: 961
Default

Indeed you could find all the parts from a breakers.

But the cost of fuel going there, plus the time taken. I can order what I want as New and in good order, and get on with something else that earns money whilst the parts arrive the following day.

"Expensive" is a term applied to goods that are overpriced compared to the same from other sources. If someone else supplies all the items I need - including coloured cable in the right amperage, cut to the exact lengths I need - I'd gladly consider them if the price is right.

I've always had good service and helpful advice from Dan & Wilf at Vehicle Wiring Products, at a fair price.
__________________
Renegade Events etc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-05-2004, 06:06 PM
odie odie is offline
It's about time I shut the fuck up!
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,548
Send a message via MSN to odie
Default

I live 10 minutes away from them and have seen their prices.
I know that on certain items say lucas tail lights that they are on a 100% + mark up.
I am glad you can afford to pay for new items but just because the item is from a scrap yard dont mean that its no good, (items like brake pads are a no-no thou).
Call me tight but i prefer to look for a deal than pay throu the nose, but hay each to his or her own.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-05-2004, 02:00 AM
Alik Windrush Alik Windrush is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Essex
Posts: 275
Default

meow. New parts always work and have a warranty. I always feel and arsehole when I'm by the side of the road cos I used a second hand connector block and saved 50p. (But then you've got to do something while you're waiting for a tow.!!)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-05-2004, 07:20 AM
Dusty's Avatar
Dusty Dusty is offline
Type like a Twat Me...
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Wales
Posts: 956
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alik Windrush
. I always feel and arsehole when I'm by the side of the road ..... waiting for a tow.!!)
can you buy special arseholes to feel or do you just keep an old one in your saddle bags
__________________
The object of war is NOT to die for your country, but to make sure the other Bastard dies for his.
And how come you hate our flag, but love our benefits.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-05-2004, 10:52 AM
Sir Ewok's Avatar
Sir Ewok Sir Ewok is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wherever I damn well Please
Posts: 5,490
Default

The Ewokandtuck Trading Empire sell 'second-user' arseholes in various shapes colours and genders, to fill all needs. Special latex feeling gloves not supplied.

If you have to ask the price, you can't afford it, though you could send cash or cheque anyway.
__________________
Been riding for 40 years and my arse is really sore
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23-12-2005, 05:47 PM
WHEAT8QB WHEAT8QB is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default hazard warning

Hi I 'm not a biker but am a MG nut and have 3. Old MGs have the same problem with haz warning so i now sell a hazard warning kit. Fit it in under one hour with only 3 connections to your trike. Very detailed circuit and instructions supplied and if you get stuck (you won't) call me on 01582 832305. Lots of trickers have fitted this kit. Andy C Now for the dosh !!
15 inc P&P
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23-12-2005, 06:20 PM
critch critch is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: scouseland
Posts: 5,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Dog
Indeed you could find all the parts from a breakers.

But the cost of fuel going there, plus the time taken. I can order what I want as New and in good order, and get on with something else that earns money whilst the parts arrive the following day.

"Expensive" is a term applied to goods that are overpriced compared to the same from other sources. If someone else supplies all the items I need - including coloured cable in the right amperage, cut to the exact lengths I need - I'd gladly consider them if the price is right.

I've always had good service and helpful advice from Dan & Wilf at Vehicle Wiring Products, at a fair price.
couldnt agree more very helpful people not that expensive only cost me 60 odd quid to rewire my old chop including wire, 6 pin connectors, heat shrink, fuse box, and a few relays and associated odds and sods....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23-12-2005, 06:28 PM
Shep's Avatar
Shep Shep is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Deeepest Wiltshoire.
Posts: 3,213
Default

So do all trikes regardless of age require hazard lights now, or only for MSVA?
__________________
This isn't a rehearsal, so enjoy life now!

It isn't the journey or the destination ........it's who you ride it with.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-12-2005, 12:39 PM
BikerGran's Avatar
BikerGran BikerGran is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Waaay down south in Dorset
Posts: 2,729
Send a message via MSN to BikerGran
Default

Had to retro fit hazards to mine for the MOT.
__________________
Getting old isn't much fun - except when you consider the alternative!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-01-2006, 09:06 AM
MSVA Tech's Avatar
MSVA Tech MSVA Tech is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tootling round Turktown
Posts: 353
Default

All trikes require hazards for MoT unless you can prove that the vehicle was first used (as a trike not the donor bike/car/reliant) before 01 April 1986.
__________________
The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-01-2006, 09:36 AM
shaggy696969's Avatar
shaggy696969 shaggy696969 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,655
Default

Yup its a Bastard I got a 87 max and am having to fit the bastards.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-01-2006, 01:24 PM
Shep's Avatar
Shep Shep is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Deeepest Wiltshoire.
Posts: 3,213
Default

Thanks, peeps.
__________________
This isn't a rehearsal, so enjoy life now!

It isn't the journey or the destination ........it's who you ride it with.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-01-2006, 10:52 PM
RebuiltYorkie's Avatar
RebuiltYorkie RebuiltYorkie is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the top of the Coast of North West Cumbria
Posts: 2,384
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSVA Tech
All trikes require hazards for MoT unless you can prove that the vehicle was first used (as a trike not the donor bike/car/reliant) before 01 April 1986.
Dose that apply to handbrake? I got or rather did have a handbrake to one rear wheel...Been trying to sort it so braked both wheels... it's been a right pig, either the diff, d/shaft, bike frame and or all are in the way and fouling cable and the rod type coupling like the kit-car set up! My tirke is a 77 GL1000, triked 1980/81..

I thought I'd fix it to both rear wheels, coss I moved from Brum to new area Cumbria... not sure what the new mot guy up is like...past mot's in Brum straight through three no hassel no fail.. but up here I don't know

Last edited by RebuiltYorkie; 05-01-2006 at 11:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-01-2006, 11:36 AM
titusni titusni is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RebuiltYorkie
Dose that apply to handbrake? I got or rather did have a handbrake to one rear wheel...Been trying to sort it so braked both wheels... it's been a right pig, either the diff, d/shaft, bike frame and or all are in the way and fouling cable and the rod type coupling like the kit-car set up! My tirke is a 77 GL1000, triked 1980/81..

I thought I'd fix it to both rear wheels, coss I moved from Brum to new area Cumbria... not sure what the new mot guy up is like...past mot's in Brum straight through three no hassel no fail.. but up here I don't know
My trike's just been throught its 3 MOT with handbrake acting only on nearside wheel - never any comments made about it. It went through MSVA like this as well with no problems.

I recently had a look at Section 9 of the MOT handbook which is the section with trike and quad specific guidelines and I still don't see anything that clearly says the handbrake needs to operate on both wheels of an axle...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-01-2006, 12:16 PM
Borg's Avatar
Borg Borg is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The Independent State Of West Wales
Posts: 4,522
Send a message via MSN to Borg
Default

what about this thread then ?

http://www.100-biker.co.uk/forums/sh...p=105849648844

where it says

A Trike only needs hazards and fog light if it's over 450 kg's then its MOT'd as a class 4!!! It's the law!!!

but then has this as a reply

The lighting requirements were brought into line with the MSVA requirements. The biggest p*sser was with the hazards which had always been in the MoT but rarely applied to trikes by testers.

It's all very confusing isn't it
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-01-2006, 04:44 PM
titusni titusni is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borg
The lighting requirements were brought into line with the MSVA requirements. The biggest p*sser was with the hazards which had always been in the MoT but rarely applied to trikes by testers.

It's all very confusing isn't it
Now that I've got a copy of Chapter 9 of the MOT testing notes this issue is actually very clear - Chapter 9 overs specifics for trikes and quads and in 9.1 Lighting, Requirement for tricycles and quadricycles states:

Hazard warning lights
2 front, 2 rear
A telltale must be fitted.

Its the handbrake issue I don't see an answer to in black and white...
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 05-01-2006, 06:34 PM
excalibur's Avatar
excalibur excalibur is offline
It's about time I shut the fuck up!
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,503
Send a message via MSN to excalibur
Default

I wonder where all this will end with retro fits?

What was the reasoning behind it?.......................I would like to see the statistics on serious accidents involving trikes not fitted with hazzard lights, the non fitment being the cause of the accident.

Mark my words we will all be riding round with bubble wrap round us soon........god help us that biking should be ever so slightly dangerous
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 19-03-2006, 07:02 PM
peterboroughhelmet peterboroughhelmet is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to peterboroughhelmet
Default Wiring Diagram

Quote:
Originally Posted by odie
All parts can be obtained from a good scrap yard (hazard relay, illuminated switch)
I would never go to vehicle wiring products, they are to expensive!
I have a wiring diagram for a hazard relay circuit if you need it.
Hi mate, I am in the middle of building a trike and I really need a wiring diagram for the hazards, please could you email a copy, cheers, Kev.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 13-05-2006, 09:52 PM
WHEAT8QB WHEAT8QB is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Look in this months 100% BIKER mag & solve your prob. Great bit of kit
or phone 01582 832305 Andy C
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 13-05-2006, 09:55 PM
WHEAT8QB WHEAT8QB is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Hazard warning kit are for sale in this months 100% BIKER Andy C
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 13-05-2006, 09:57 PM
WHEAT8QB WHEAT8QB is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

[ Haz kits are adverised in this months 100%BIKER Andy C
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 13-05-2006, 10:07 PM
guydewdney's Avatar
guydewdney guydewdney is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Zomerset
Posts: 361
Default

http://www.autoeurope.co.uk/index.asp

cheap bits... their fuse box 4 way - 79p - vehicle wiring, same thing, 1.47

ok - worse site, less stuff.. but i have bought off them and it arrived pronto, and well packaged.
__________________
TDM850 with single sider, nitros, and a towbar
5 1/2 cars
6.9 Merc V8 ratrike project
Total engine capacity:- 22.7 litres
All Terrain Camera Tracking for Film and TV
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 14-05-2006, 09:58 AM
trikerdan's Avatar
trikerdan trikerdan is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Essex
Posts: 277
Default

Do I have to have an illuminated hazzard switch then?

I was going to use the kill switch on my handebar controls and have a light on my dash pannel.

I assumed I wouldnt need a kill switch on a trike....?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 14-05-2006, 11:18 AM
trikerdan's Avatar
trikerdan trikerdan is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Essex
Posts: 277
Default

Ah ok then. But does the switch have to have a symbol on it like a triangle or can any switch be used as long as you know what its for?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.