100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums

Go Back   100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums > 100% Biker > Biker Chat

Notices

Old 11-08-2006, 02:59 PM
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....

Default harley engine names and meanings

Got this off an Ebay review(which has pics): http://reviews.ebay.com/GUIDE-TO-HAR...:-1:LISTINGS:4

This is an 'unofficial' collection of names given to Harley engines (and particulars) over the years. Why write such a thing when this is supposed to be common knowledge among anyone who rides a Harley? Because after 34+ years of this stuff I only just discovered the other day or so that I still didn't have it all down pat! I've been calling for sometime my 2005 FXDL a 'Blockhead' when in fact it's a 'Fathead'! Do I feel like a friggin' KNUCKLEHEAD? Dang straight! So just in case there's anyone else out there that belongs to the same club I do (Dim Bulb M/C) here's the straight poop (hopefully?!).
LRG
So here we go, my gathering of H-D names given to the engines by the public for the bike we all pay homage to and worship like a Gawd - and if I STILL got em' wrong may the Harley gawds have mercy on my wretched soul!
THE BIG-TWINS

FLATHEAD: Refers to the H-D engines that began at the dawn of time and continued on thru World War II. The engines are recognizable by the flat cylinder heads (twins and singles), with cast fins protruding directly out of them (much like your common 4-stroke lawnmower we still have today). The valves are located along side the cylinders, rather then above them (the norm now).

KNUCKLEHEAD: Among the first Overhead Valve V-Twin engines H-D produced, and seriously not a whole hell of a lot different then we have today (use your imagination!). The engine had distinctive HUGE Rocker Arm Shaft Bolts sticking out of the cylinder heads, hence the name. The bike was also renown as being one of the biggest leakers H-D ever made (easily fixed now of course).