100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums

Go Back   100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums > 100% Biker > The Workshop

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13-05-2005, 12:27 PM
2rabbits 2rabbits is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 30
Default Help! GS750 carbs/running on my chop!

Finally, I rebuilt my carbs and got the GS750 chop fired up! (Its a 1979). Problem is, it will only run when the choke is nearly full on (about three quarters on). Any attempt to turn choke off or even down a little bit and the engine cuts out. Any attempt to increase throttle, engine cuts out.
I guess that the set-up is making it run lean. It has unidentified conical air filters, a bit like K&N and a strait-thru pipe with no name on! It seems to make no difference at the moment whether filters are on off, so I guess they are pretty 'strait-thru', too. So I'm guessing I need to adjust the mixture, but I'm not quite sure how to do it (which screws?!!). There's a screw underneath the float bowl (its the only one still visible when the float bowl is on) and theres a screw on the top/side of the carb barrells - I'm guessing one of these might be the one!
Currently the carbs have 110 jets in. Do you think I'll be able to get running with these, or will I need to go up more.
If anyone can educate me in these carbs, I'd love to learnm.
Thanks,
2R.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-05-2005, 01:05 PM
hardtailbiker's Avatar
hardtailbiker hardtailbiker is offline
Been out, but rather stay in!
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,377
Default

I'd say you need to upjet the carbs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-05-2005, 05:49 PM
Dougie's Avatar
Dougie Dougie is offline
Talk, Type, Breath, Talk, Type, Breath....
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In the canyons of my mind.....
Posts: 19,609
Default

For all the GS and carb info you need try these blokes-
http://www.thegsresources.com/_forum/index.php
You'll have to register (like here) but both Earlfor and Keith Krause have forgotten more about carbs than we mortals will ever know.Use the search facility or put in a question in the Tech Info forum and you'll most likely find what you're looking for.Put it this way,my GS550 was running like a serious bag of hammers,with their help she's now sweet as!
__________________
We will remember them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-05-2005, 01:37 PM
Big Pete Big Pete is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 420
Default

110 mains are going to be way lean, I had a gs550 that needed 145 mains wih K&Ns and a motad pipe to be running sensibly.
__________________
There`s no such thing as too many tools.

GarageOfPower@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.