100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums

Go Back   100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums > 100% Biker > Down The Pub

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26-09-2011, 09:09 PM
devon-tony devon-tony is offline
Lucky Wombling Bastard except when he's not Wombling, when he's just a Lucky Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Devonshire
Posts: 4,371
Send a message via AIM to devon-tony
Default todays wombling gains

So as many of you know im tight and like skips etc lol
anyways today opposite my work theres a guy struggling with a tv in the back of his car.
Turned out he was about to take it to the dump. Tells me whats wrong with it. I offered to repair it for him. Says he dont want it. So i asked for it. End result being a tv in my car with remote and leads. Opened it up found blown capacitor on the power board and 2 dry joints.
Now sat watching a 42 inch samsung hd tv. Friggin huge lol

he said he had the wall mount and a stand for it at home. Going to pop over in the morning and ask for them also lol.

Glad i didnt take the trike today
__________________
nowt of much use here
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-09-2011, 09:14 PM
hacky hacky is offline
Self opinionated twat
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: devon
Posts: 2,252
Send a message via Yahoo to hacky
Default

Lucky Wombling Bastard

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-09-2011, 09:26 PM
devon-tony devon-tony is offline
Lucky Wombling Bastard except when he's not Wombling, when he's just a Lucky Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Devonshire
Posts: 4,371
Send a message via AIM to devon-tony
Default

Lol might take it back and ask for a refund.
Its got built in freeview but wont pickup the freeview hd channels?
__________________
nowt of much use here
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-09-2011, 11:41 PM
John Hopkins's Avatar
John Hopkins John Hopkins is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tredegar, South Wales
Posts: 16,062
Default

I reckon you deserve it..He was going to throw it, you found the blown cap and dry joints..Did you try the first time install to get the freeview, you do realise you have to tune in the analogue channel on some TVs before you can search for freeview..look up what channel's between 22 and 68 you need for freeview in your area.

John.
__________________
Beauty is skin deep; ugly goes right to the bone
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-09-2011, 06:14 AM
devon-tony devon-tony is offline
Lucky Wombling Bastard except when he's not Wombling, when he's just a Lucky Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Devonshire
Posts: 4,371
Send a message via AIM to devon-tony
Default

I told him that I could probably fix it, he just said, good luck you ya

we dont have analogue channels here, havent had analogue for probably 2 years, we were the first region to be turned off

according to the freeview website I should be able to access some HD channels, but the tuner in the TV doesnt find them, cant remember if the old set top box finds them, might plug it back in and have a look
__________________
nowt of much use here
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-09-2011, 06:52 AM
The Beer Monsters's Avatar
The Beer Monsters The Beer Monsters is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devon-tony View Post
according to the freeview website I should be able to access some HD channels, but the tuner in the TV doesnt find them, cant remember if the old set top box finds them, might plug it back in and have a look
You really need a decent aerial to get the Freeview HD channels
__________________
And when I run out of drugs, I'm going to start using explosives (A J Stiles on The Register)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-09-2011, 07:17 AM
devon-tony devon-tony is offline
Lucky Wombling Bastard except when he's not Wombling, when he's just a Lucky Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Devonshire
Posts: 4,371
Send a message via AIM to devon-tony
Default

aha that explains it then, our signal was halved overnight sometime back, the local transmitter was turned down and the signal on the box went from 99% to about 55% over night, our area has terrible problems with freezing and the audio video going out of synch, this explains why I cant get the HD

time to maybe look for a second hand blueray, theres 3 hdmi ports, god knows how many audio ports, ports for data and computers??? all I got plugged in is the power and the coax from the wall LOL

although the picture is obviously bigger, the sound is nothing like and picture quality isnt as good as the tube TV thats currently sat in my living room, cant help but feel guilty that Im changing just because its more trendy and bigger.

now then how do I move an 80kg tube TV out to the car park LOL
__________________
nowt of much use here
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-09-2011, 08:23 AM
W.I.T.C.H W.I.T.C.H is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 426
Default

lol wish you had been around to fix my samsung
try free sat if your signal is crap
saves on a subscriptions and you get freeview channels plus few more for free aint too expensive......
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-09-2011, 08:26 AM
PeteHaddock PeteHaddock is offline
Need to Get out More!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: lincolnshire
Posts: 467
Default

i had the same problem with a 36" tube telly in an upstairs flat lol, the telly was fucked so i made a little sledge out of a pallet, put my matress at bottom of the stairs and slid it down on a rope lol
__________________
Remember when sex was safe and motorcycles were dangerous?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-09-2011, 08:35 AM
John Hopkins's Avatar
John Hopkins John Hopkins is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tredegar, South Wales
Posts: 16,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devon-tony View Post
we dont have analogue channels here, havent had analogue for probably 2 years, we were the first region to be turned off
I may have made that a bit unclear..The TV band is divided into frequencies and these frequencies were allocated to TV stations..

Channel 21 - 68 each channel used 8Mhz to produce one TV station so C21 used 470Mhz to 478 Mhz and C68 used 846Mhz to 854Mhz..

The digital channels still use the same frequencies but each channel is condensed and uses less bandwidth so the old analogue channel is now called a multiplex or MUX..this will carry 8Mhz of condensed digital TV stations..But the TV still needs an analogue TV aerial to pick up the original frequency.

The whole tv band is divided into three main blocks and the Aerials are divided into groups A, B, and C. group A is for channels 21 - 35 B, for 35 - 52 and C for 52 -68. there is another group W which stands for wideband and this is to cover the low channels and the high channels but misses out the middle ones..

You need to find out which analogue channels your local transmitter uses to broadcast your MUX's and then fit the right aerial. If you fit the wrong one the pictures will break up or blank out.

When you find out which aerial you need it will say for instance group A H or C22H or V H stands for Horizontal and means the loop at the back of the aerial has to be lying down in line with the horizon and V stands for vertical which means the loop has to stand up like a tree.

Think I've covered it all..sorry if it sounds condescending but I don't know how much you already know..

John.
__________________
Beauty is skin deep; ugly goes right to the bone
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27-09-2011, 09:54 AM
devon-tony devon-tony is offline
Lucky Wombling Bastard except when he's not Wombling, when he's just a Lucky Bastard
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Devonshire
Posts: 4,371
Send a message via AIM to devon-tony
Default

blimey, there was me thinkin my wire coat hanger was up to the job

LOL many thanks, thats much appreciated, I had great picture before the switch off, will contact freeview website and look into the bands and also have a look at the aerial.

will print all that information off and try to digest it properly.

I dont have sky(cant afford or pass the credit check LOL) or even a dish, so Im limited to free TV through the aerial.
__________________
nowt of much use here
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27-09-2011, 01:03 PM
John Hopkins's Avatar
John Hopkins John Hopkins is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tredegar, South Wales
Posts: 16,062
Default

You can buy a sky box and dish second hand for about 20 on a good day, complete with a free card and remote..connect it to your tv and press the test signal button then put the TV on search until it locks on two white bars on a black background..Your local Aerial fitter will probably align the dish for another 20 and that will give you about 20 or more extra free channels.

John.
__________________
Beauty is skin deep; ugly goes right to the bone
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27-09-2011, 02:54 PM
W.I.T.C.H W.I.T.C.H is offline
Chatter Box
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 426
Default

yeah i dont pay subs on my sat.... hmmph not a chance of wasting money on tv i wont watch when i could spend it on overpriced fuel instead!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.