100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums

Go Back   100% Biker & Trike Magazine Forums > 100% Biker > The Workshop

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23-08-2017, 08:24 AM
bungy bungy is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Coventry
Posts: 30
Default XJ900 F Fuses Problem

I'm after a bit of help with my wiring on my trike.


Long story short, I've had to replace and rewire large portions of my wiring loom, which I've pretty well managed to work out, but as the fuse box was missing I have no idea or reference as to which size fuses go where.


Does anyone have a picture of an XJ900 fuse box with the fuses in, or can someone tell me which fuses go where in the fuse box?

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-08-2017, 12:52 PM
strima's Avatar
strima strima is offline
Type like a Twat Me...
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St Neots, with the pointy heads...
Posts: 956
Default

If you can list the number and wattage rating of your lamps, horn etc and the layout of the fuse box we can tell you what fuses to put in.

Fairly easy to work out, just a bit of maths. Ohms law...

for example a 20 watt bulb

20/12=1.66 amps.

55 watt bulb:

55/12=4.16 amps.
__________________
The best part of you ran down the crack of your mothers arse!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-08-2017, 01:29 PM
bungy bungy is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Coventry
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks Strima, That all sounds relatively straightforward if I can find out the wattage of everything.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-08-2017, 03:08 PM
strima's Avatar
strima strima is offline
Type like a Twat Me...
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St Neots, with the pointy heads...
Posts: 956
Default

It'll be written on the bulbs.

Work 10 amps for the horn.

10 - 15 for the CDU if it has one.

Probably around 30 amps for the main fuse.
__________________
The best part of you ran down the crack of your mothers arse!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-08-2017, 04:36 PM
bungy bungy is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Coventry
Posts: 30
Default

The indicators and rear brake lights are led so will have to look up the spec, plus led side lights. The bulk of the loom is quite standard with only a few additional bits plus I've added a digital speedo and idiot lights and 2 horns. I'll have to figure it all out and will post when have all the info. Do remember the main fuse was 30amp though. Believe it or not we got a puppy and it managed to get at my trike and eat a large part of the loom along with the fuse box and indicator relays and piss all over it. The mess was unbelievable
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-08-2017, 04:48 PM
strima's Avatar
strima strima is offline
Type like a Twat Me...
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: St Neots, with the pointy heads...
Posts: 956
Default

If the majority of lights are LED then they'll be drawing no more than a couple of amps.
__________________
The best part of you ran down the crack of your mothers arse!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-08-2017, 05:52 PM
bungy bungy is offline
Chat Virgin
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Coventry
Posts: 30
Default

Hi tetlee, this is very embarrassing as I have the Haynes manual as I've been using the wiring diagram. Completely forgot if turn back a few pages where it actually tells you the fuses. That's my age showing lol

I'm sure I didn't have 2 10amp fuses though a could of sworn one was a 13amp. Would having 2 horns affect a fuse, or the extra marker lights as originally they were proper bulbs and not led?
It's saying ignition is 10, headlight 20, turn signal 10 and main 30.

Trike has 4 led brake lights, ordinary 35 watt headlight, ordinary number plate light, 4 x led marker lights still has its cdu 4 x led indicators, digital speedo with integrated rev counter and idiot lights which I can't find out how much power it pulls, and beside indicator and hazard relay and oil sensor and neutral sensor I can't think of anything else on it. Do those fuses sound like they're ok or is it worth trying to figure out if I'm going to need a 13 somewhere?

I can follow a wiring diagram ok and understand the basic principles but when I comes to more complex figuring out ampages and stuff I admit I get out of my depth.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-08-2017, 06:09 PM
tetlee tetlee is offline
Chat Slapper
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: south coast uk
Posts: 70
Default

" That's my age showing lol "

It's ok mate, I'm in the same memory club and as far as electrics go I agree with what a School Teacher said many years ago.." You have the technical abilities of a small Water Melon lad, you are an idiot."

Anything beyond simple one for one fuse/bulb replacement on my advice would result in a Trike fire....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.